Skip to content

Get Involved

Join A Committee

To become more involved in a TMA Chicago/Midwest Chapter Committee, simply complete the form below and hit the submit button at the bottom.  A Chapter Administrator will confirm receipt and introduce you promptly to the co-chairs of the committee(s) you express interest in.  It is recommended that you select at least one but no more than two committees. Questions?  Call 815-469-2935 for personal assistance.

TMA Chicago/Midwest Chapter
Committee Descriptions

Awards The Awards Committee selects the annual Chapter award winners and presents the awards at TMA Chapter events, usually the Executive Speaker Forum. Responsibilities include marketing the awards program to the membership and soliciting nominations, identifying criteria for the awards, selecting the award recipients, and recommending to the Board any improvements to the awards process. Chairs: Kevin Morse Clark Hill, Jim Trankina AlixPartners

Communications — The Communications Committee is charged with maximizing brand recognition for the Chapter, its sponsors, and its members. The committee oversees the news and communications for the chapter including the solicitation of articles for the quarterly newsletter (The Newsletter of Corporate Renewal) as well as create and implement social media posts (Facebook, Twitter, and LinkedIn). The committee works closely with the Chapter’s administrative support staff to identify available technology systems to improve communications (website, phone apps, etc.). Chairs: Heidi Hockberger Levenfeld Pearlstein LLC, Mark Silverman Locke Lord LLP, Michael Boyer Huron

Education — The Education Committee is responsible for planning three to five workshops or seminars throughout the year – both virtual and in person – that provide education and the opportunity for members to earn continuing education credits. These events require a true team effort to develop programs of relevance along with quality speakers and information. Chairs: Mark Melickian Raines Feldman, Catalin Diaconu High Ridge Partners

Entertainment — The Entertainment Committee is charged with planning a variety of networking events throughout the year including but not limited to the Chapter’s annual charity golf outing, the annual martini networking reception, and the annual holiday party. Chairs: Alex Porter Lanthrop GPM, Jamie Cote Hilco, Akash Amin, CTP MorrisAnderson

Finance — The Finance Committee is led by the Treasurer (serving as chair), and committee members have dual responsibilities of assisting the Treasurer during the annual budgeting process and assisting, as necessary, the sponsorship committee, which is also overseen by the Treasurer. Chairs: Kevin Tavakoli Huron

Membership — The Membership Committee’s primary task is to assist the Chapter in meeting its membership goals for the year including retention of existing members which is a year-round process. In addition, committee members serve as greeters at certain Chapter programs, provide support in the way of personal phone calls and emails to non-renewed members, and welcome new members as they join throughout the year. Chairs: Sean Williams Levenfeld Pearlstein LLC, Bob Pabst HYPERAMS, Bridget Anderson Siena Lending

What committee(s) are you interesting in joining? (please select no more than 3) *(Required)

Milwaukee Programs — The Milwaukee Programs Committee hosts educational sessions and networking events not only to meet the needs of members who live in the Milwaukee area but also to expand networking opportunities for Chicago area members who do business in Wisconsin. Events include bi-monthly breakfast meetings, a renowned post-holiday dinner party, a private reception at SummerFest and numerous networking events at a variety of fun and interesting venues in the Milwaukee area that foster great networking. The Milwaukee Programming committee is also responsible for the annual Milwaukee sponsorship solicitation, which is done in conjunction with the Chapter’s annual sponsorship drive. Chairs: Virginia George Steinhilber Swanson, Erin West Godfrey & Kahn

NextGen — The NextGen Committee plans three to four programs and/or networking events tailored to those members who are in the early stages of their career. Past events have included social events and networking receptions on rooftops or at local breweries, and educational workshops that provide learning tools for the Next Generation of turnaround professionals such as the 13-week Cash Flow Workshop. Chairs: Paige Demkowicz Plante Moran, Samantha Ruben Dentons, Ryan Blum The Keystone Group

Executive Speaker Forum Event — The Executive Speaker Forum Event Committee serves a lead role in planning the Executive Speaker Forum event for the Chapter. The committee members will be responsible for the development of the keynote speaker and program along with the sponsor table sales and marketing of any tickets. This committee may also propose and execute other special programming events. Chairs: Gordy Gouveia Fox Rothschild LLP, Stephen Beriau Eclipse Business Capital

Pro Bono — The Pro Bono Committee offers professional assistance to organizations who reach out to the Chapter for turnaround guidance and advice. The committee is responsible for determining pro bono qualifications, identifying appropriate pro bono engagements, and connecting those engagements with members who are willing to contribute skills on a pro bono basis. The Committee is also charged with hosting an annual charity event such as volunteering to build school supply kits. Chairs: Jack Donohue DSI Consulting, Elizabeth Janczak Smith Gambrell Russell

Scholarship Foundation Board — The Scholarship Foundation Board is responsible for raising funds and awarding scholarships to deserving students associated with or recommended by Chapter members. The Scholarship Foundation was formed to honor and/or memorialize TMA members in a meaningful way by providing scholarships to students pursuing higher education. Depending on the year, two to three new directors will need to be appointed, with the directors expected to serve terms of up to three years, subject to the Scholarship Foundation’s bylaws. Chairs: Donna Hinrich Sky Business Credit LLC, Jamie Cote Hilco Global, Dave Mack Pathfinder GroupLLC, Harold Israel Levenfeld Pearlstein LLC, Mitch Rasky CIBC, Nick Miller McDonald Hopkins

Sponsorship — The Sponsorship Committee is charged with securing sponsors for the Chapter’s annual sponsorship program (the Platinum, Gold and Silver sponsors) in the fall of each year. They may also be asked to assist with securing sponsors for the Chapter’s annual events such as the golf outing. This effort is completed through personal outreach as needed. Chairs: Joe Fobbe Valley Capital, Kevin Tavakoli Huron

TMA NOW (Network of Women) — TMA NOW provides program and networking opportunities that are targeted to women in the turnaround industry. While mostly attended by women members and non- members, most programs and events are not exclusive, as all members are invited. NOW has hosted luncheons, wine tastings and other special programming events. Chairs: Kelly Desgrosseilliers Epiq, Neema Varghese NV Consulting Services, Alyssa Butler The Keystone Group